4 EKİM 2017
8th Steelie Awards Shortlist Announced
The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has announced the shortlist for its 8th Steelie Awards. The winners will be revealed at the Annual Dinner of the 2017 General Assembly in Brussels on Monday, 16 October. The trophies, known as Steelies, are awarded in seven categories.

The categories are:

1. Steel industry website of the year

British Steel
Qatar Steel Company (Q.S.C.)
Tata Steel Limited
thyssenkrupp AG
voestalpine AG

2. Innovation of the year

HBIS Group Co., Ltd.: Research and application of waster heat on-line water quenching
POSCO: Deep learning technology for innovating steel manufacturing processes
Jindal Steel and Power Limited: Conversion of an existing electric arc furnace to a Neo Electric oxy furnace
JSW Steel Limited: Development of Advanced High-Strength Steel (AHSS) for automotive steels and superior grade of electrical steel
voestalpine AG: Highly efficient inline bonded electric motor cores for e-mobility
3. Excellence in sustainability

Acindar Grupo ArcelorMittal and Ternium: Steel reuse for the conservation of jaguars
ArcelorMittal Tubarão and Usiminas: Paving rural roads in Brazil with steel by-products
China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited: Renewable energy in steelmaking
4. Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

Baotou Iron & Steel (Group) Co., Ltd: Use of LCA to support eco-design and environmental improvement throughout its supply chain
JSW Steel Limited: Use of LCA to reduce the carbon and water footprints of its operations
Tata Steel Europe: Creation of an Environmental Product Declaration Programme
Tata Steel India: Using LCA to support its customer on their new product’s LCA study
5. Excellence in education and training

HBIS Group Co., Ltd.: Online training platform 
Nucor Corporation: Leadership in financial management training
Tata Steel Europe: Learning on project, change and safety management
Ternium: Collaboration with The University of Sheffield to deliver the degree programme ‘Master in Advanced Metallurgy’ in a blended learning format
6. Journalist of the year

Thomas BIESHEUVEL, Bloomberg
Diana KINCH, Platts
Tomoya ONISHI, Nikkei Asian Review
Michael POOLER, Financial Times
7. Industry communicator of the year

Naveen JINDAL, Chairman, Jindal Steel and Power Limited
MA Guoqiang, Chairman, China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited
Daniel NOVEGIL, CEO, Ternium

The selection process for the shortlist varies between awards. In most cases the submissions are requested via the appropriate membership committee and the worldsteel extranet. Entries are then judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria. Journalist of the year and Industry communicator of the year are selected by direct vote.

Source: https://www.worldsteel.org/